Categories: Outdoors

Dathan Ritzenhein

Name: Dathan Ritzenhein

Sport/Event: 10,000m

DOB: 12/30/1982

Hometown: Rockford, Michigan

Current Residence: Beaverton, Oregon

Years competing: Since age 11, eight years professionally

How did you get started in your sport?

I began running with my dad at the local running club when I was about 11-years-old. I started competing in triathlons before focusing solely on running in high school.

What are some notable highs from your career?

I broke the American record in the 5000m, running 12:56 in 2009. I also won a bronze medal at the 2009 World Half Marathon Championships. I am also a three-time USA cross-country champion.

What is the lowest point you’ve experienced?  How did you bounce back?

In 2011, I had two Achilles surgeries with many complications. I had a long-lasting post-surgical infection, and it kept me from running for six months. It was the hardest time in my career because I have always been able to focus on cross training to keep fit, but with the recurring infections and open wound, I could not exercise at all. I spent a lot of time with my family, and without the support and love of my wife and kids, I would have given up.

What are your goals, both short term and long term?

I just missed making the Olympic team in the marathon in January 2012. I was fourth place—eight seconds out—and just the top three make the team. I am training well now and hope to make my third Olympic team in the 10,000m at the Trials this June.

Long term I hope to keep running for another four to eight years and continue through the ups and downs of being a professional runner.

What surprises have you experienced in your career?

Surprises happen in this sport all the time, sometimes good and sometimes bad, but that is what makes it interesting.

What brought you to Oregon?

I moved to Eugene in 2007 to train on softer surfaces. After two years, I moved up to Beaverton to begin training with Alberto Salazar’s Nike Oregon Project out of the Nike World Headquarters.

What is your favorite thing about Oregon athletically?

I love that it rarely snows in the Willamette Valley! Having grown up in Michigan and attended college in Colorado, I hated having to worry about running in the snow.

When you’re not training or competing, what do you like to do?

I have a wife and two kids, ages 4 and almost 2. I love just being a father and husband and spending any spare time with them.

Hobbies? Favorite restaurant?  Favorite hangout?

I love to read. My favorite restaurant is Pepino’s on NW 23rd in Portland. I just hang out when I’m at home because I train a lot.

Share
Published by
admin

Recent Posts

Oregon Wasabi?

Oregon-grown wasabi is a versatile and spicy option for your cooking written by Sophia McDonald…

2 weeks ago

Cocktail Card

Rosemary's Bee Bee recipe courtesy of Hannah Loop at The Winchester Inn, Ashland •  2…

2 weeks ago

Rafting the Owyhee River

Travel through time in a land of legends written and photographed by Adam Thorn Smith…

2 weeks ago

All in for Diversity

Partners in Diversity seeks to draw professionals of color to the Portland area—and keep them…

2 weeks ago

The Ultimate Oregon Road Trip

12 days, tons of sights Get ready for the drive of a lifetime written by…

4 weeks ago

Expert Explanation how to play Free GBA Games Emulator for Android (Updated)

You should also double-check the piracy laws for your country before you proceed. This version…

2 months ago