About Us

1859 Media is an Oregon-based publishing company. Its lifesstyle flagship is 1859 Oregon's Magazine.


About 1859 Oregon's Magazine

Where else in the world can you drive four hours and surf the coast, hike beneath waterfalls in a temperate rainforest, cycle across a high desert and camp in a Forest Service hut beneath a Ponderosa canopy? Oregon is an amazing state, and it attracts creative people who lead interesting lives. We're pioneers in the sustainable movement, we're bike geeks and techies, Native Americans and cowboys, financiers and vintners. We're urban, suburban, rural and ranch. This is our Oregon and she flies wtih her own wings, alis volat propiis.

In the year 1859, Oregon was admitted to the Union as its 33rd state. That same year, Henry Green and Washington Irving founded the Portland Gas Light Company, with its shipment of lights arriving a year later from New York to illuminate the streets of Portland for the first time. About a decade later, Oregon's first lighthouse at Cape Blanco opened its eye to guide ships along our perilous coast. Americana songwriter Woodie Guthrie sat down along the Columbia River Gorge in 1941 and a month later had produced 26 songs including, "Roll On Columbia." Almost two decades later, a Bend resident and 10th Mountain Division soldier named Bill Healy pioneered Mt. Bachelor for skiing with a single rope tow that would eventually elevate the area to elite status in the ski industry, effectually changing the course of Central Oregon's destiny.

In 2009, Oregon's first statewide cultural magazine was born with 1859 to shine a light on Oregon's cultural riches, exploring the people and the places that make our state one of the world's hidden treasures. Originally a quarterly publication, 1859 transitioned to a bi-monthly magazine with the July | August 2012 issue.

In an intelligent and beautiful format, 1859 explores the landscapes, the personalities, the movers and shakers, the history and the architecture that is the jewel of the Pacific Northwest. For Oregonians, 1859 is one representation of the state's rich history, it’s incredible destinations and colorful personalities. Departments such as "What I'm Working On," "Game Changers" and "Sound Off" resonate with residents of Oregon. Departments such as "From Where I Stand," "The Road Reconsidered," "Home Grown," "72 Hours" and "Musician Spotlight" are visual and editorial pollen that attracts the travel bee.

Come with us and, through photography, word, and wit, we'll explore Oregon's vast cultural, topographic, social and sustainable treasures.

 

1859 Media is wholly owned by:

Heather Huston Johnson, Co-Publisher
heather@1859magazine.com

Ross Johnson, Co-Publisher
ross@1859magazine.com

Kevin Max, Editor
kevin@1859magazine.com

Sarah Max, Editor at Large
sarah@1859magazine.com

Sales Team

Fletcher Beck, Willamette Valley | Coast | Southern Oregon
fletcher@1859magazine.com

Ronnie Harrelson, Central Oregon | Eastern Oregon
ronnie@1859magazine.com

Kristie La Chance, Portland
kristie@1859magazine.com

Kate Knox, Portland
kate@1859magazine.com

Design | Editorial Team

Guy Olson, Creative Director
guy@1859magazine.com

Megan Oliver, Managing Editor
megan@1859magazine.com

Garrett Hampton, Digital Manager
garrett@1859magazine.com

Talia Galvin, Assistant Designer
talia@1859magazine.com

Brendan Loscar, Website Coordinator
Brendan@1859magazine.com

Carrie Minns, Home Grown Chef
carrie@1859magazine.com

Office Services

Cindy Cowmeadow, Office Manager
cindy@1859magazine.com

Cammie Huston, Subscriptions
cammie@1859magazine.com

 

Writers' Guidelines 

We love to find writers in the communities where we write. Please see the link to our guidelines below.

Sustainable Practices

503.278.5493 (Portland)
541.550.7081 (Central Oregon)
541.306.6510 (fax)

Mailing & Shipping Address:
70 SW Century Dr., Suite 100-335
Bend, OR 97702

Corporate Office:
3052 NW Merchant Way, Suite 105
Bend, OR 97701

Web Design & Web Development by LVSYS