About Us



Deschutes Media is an Oregon-based publishing company with its lifestyle flagship: 1859 Oregon's Magazine.


About 1859 - Oregon's Magazine

Where else in the world can you drive four hours and surf the coast, hike beneath waterfalls in a temperate rainforest, cycle across a high desert and camp in a Forest Service hut beneath a Ponderosa canopy? Oregon is an amazing state, and it attracts creative people who lead interesting lives. We're pioneers in the sustainable movement, we're bike geeks and techies, Native Americans and cowboys, financiers and vintners. We're urban, suburban, rural and ranch. This is our Oregon and she flies on her own wings, alis volat propiis.

In the year 1859, Oregon was admitted to the Union as its 33rd state. That year Henry Green and Washington Irving founded the Portland Gas Light Company, with its shipment of lights arriving a year later from New York to illuminate the streets of Portland for the first time. About a decade later, Oregon's first lighthouse at Cape Blanco opened its eye to guide ships along our perilous coast. Americana songwriter Woodie Guthrie sat down along the Columbia River Gorge in 1941 and a month later had produced 26 songs including, "Roll On Columbia." Almost two decades later, a Bend resident and 10th Mountain Division soldier named Bill Healy opened Mt. Bachelor for skiing with a single rope tow that would elevate the area to among the ski industry's elite pioneering ski resorts and change the course of Central Oregon's destiny.

In 2009, Oregon's first statewide cultural magazine was born with 1859, to shine a light on Oregon's cultural riches, to explore the people and the places that make our state one of the world's hidden treasures. Originally a quarterly publication, 1859 transitioned to a bi-monthly format with the July | August 2012 issue.


In an intelligent and beautiful format, 1859 explores the landscapes, the personalities, the movers and shakers, the history and the architecture that is the jewel of the Pacific Northwest. For Oregonians, 1859 is an exploration of the state's rich history, it’s incredible destinations and colorful personalities. Departments such as "What I'm Working On," "Game Changers" and "Sound Off" resonate with residents of Oregon. Departments such as "From Where I Stand," "The Road Reconsidered," "Home Grown," "72 Hours" and "Top 5" are visual and editorial pollen that attracts the travel bee.

Come with us and, through photography, word and wit, we'll explore Oregon's vast cultural, topographic, social and sustainable treasures.

 

Management Team

Heather Huston Johnson, Co-Publisher
heather@1859magazine.com

Ross Johnson, Co-Publisher
ross@1859magazine.com

Kevin Max, Editor
kevin@1859magazine.com

Sarah Max, Executive Editor
sarah@1859magazine.com

Sales Team

Kristie La Chance, Portland
kristie@1859magazine.com

Kate Knox, Portland
kate@1859magazine.com

Julie Intlekofer, Central & Eastern Oregon
julie@1859magazine.com

John Stafford, Oregon Coast, Southern Oregon & Eugene
john@1859magazine.com

Heidi Parr, Columbia Gorge/Mt. Hood
heidi@1859magazine.com

Design/Editorial Team

Aimee Jameson, Creative Director
aimee@1859magazine.com

Guy Olson, Design Assistant
guy@1859magazine.com

Megan Oliver, Editorial Assistant
megan@1859magazine.com

Garrett Hampton, Digital Manager
garrett@1859magazine.com

Carrie Minns, Home Grown Chef
carrie@1859magazine.com

Office Services

Cindy Cowmeadow, Office Manager
cindy@1859magazine.com

Cammie Huston, Subscriptions
cammie@1859magazine.com

 

Writers' Guidelines 

We love to find writers in the communities where we write. Please see the link to our guidelines below.

Sustainable Practices

503.278.5493 (Portland)
541.550.7081 (Central Oregon)
541.306.6510 (fax)

Mailing & Shipping Address:
70 SW Century Dr., Suite 100-335
Bend, OR 97702

Corporate Office:
3052 NW Merchant Way, Suite 105
Bend, OR 97701

Subscribe Renew Subscription Change Address
Copyright 2014 © 1859 Oregon Magazine - All rights reserved - Web Design by LVSYS